Skip to main content
The State University of New York at FredoniaReed Library

Music Collection: Music Call Numbers: An Overview

**Did You Know?**

How to Read a Basic Score Call Number

M        --   Class letter (read alphabetically)
1500  --   Class number (read as a whole number)
B232  --   Cutter number (read as a decimal number)

Music Call Numbers: An Overview

Library of Congress Call Numbers: Finding Music for Instruments, Voices and Ensembles 

This is a summary of the primary Library of Congress (LC) call numbers used for music books and scores. The list is organized alphabetically by instrument/voice/subject. Click on the call number ranges to find what the library has in those areas. (Note: although instrumental and vocal methods and studies are classed by LC in the "MT" class, method books contain mostly printed music, they are listed here under the Music headings).

Band | Bassoon | Brass | Chorus | Clarinet | Double Bass | DuetsEnglish HornFluteGuitarHarp | HornOboe | Orchestra | Organ | Percussion | Piano | Quartets | Saxophone | Trios | Trombone | Trumpet | Tuba | Viola | Violin | Violoncello Voice


Band

Music
general scores: M1201 -- M1270
works for band: M1201 -- M1204
concertos with band: M1205 -- M1206
concertos for band: M1242

Books
dictionaries: ML102.B35
history and criticism: ML1299+; ML3518
instrumentation and orchestration: MT73
performance: MT733

   

back to top 


Bassoon

Music
bassoon solo: M75 -- M77
bassoon with keyboard: M253 -- M254
concertos
    full scores: M1026
    accompaniment arranged for piano: M1027
methods, studies, exercises: MT400 -- MT406
contrabassoon studies: MT412

Books
history: ML950
construction, acoustics, reed making: ML951

back to top

 


Brass

Music
scores and parts: M557.4; M 559

 

back to top

 


Chorus

Music
general scores: M2000 -- M2099
oratorios: M2000
requiems, masses: M2010 -- M2013
cantatas, sacred:
    full scores: M2020
    vocal scores: M2023
cantatas, secular: M1530+
madrigals: M1547 -- M1600

Books
history and criticism, general: ML1500
history and criticism, madrigals: ML2631
arranging: MT70.5
conducting: MT85
singing: MT88; MT 875

back to top

 


Clarinet

Music
clarinet solo: M70 -- M74
clarinet with keyboard: M248 -- M252
concertos
    full scores: M1024
    accompaniment arranged for piano: M1025
studies
    general: MT380
    methods: MT382
    studies and exercises: MT385
    orchestral studies: MT386

Books
history: ML945
construction, acoustics: ML946

back to top

 


Double Bass

Music
double bass solo: M55 -- M58
double bass with keyboard: M237 -- M238
concertos
    full scores: M1018
    accompaniment arranged for piano: M1019
studies
    general: MT320
    methods: MT322
    studies and exercises: MT330
    orchestral studies: MT331

Books
history: ML920

back to top

 


Duets

 

Music
two string instruments: M286 -- M287
two wind instruments: M288 -- M289
one wind and one string instrument: M290 -- M291
one wind and one plucked instrument: M296 -- M297

back to top

 

 


English Horn

Music
English Horn solo: M110 .E5
English Horn with keyboard: M246.2, M247.2
concertos
    full scores: M1034.E5
    accompaniment arranged for piano: M1035.E5
studies
    general: MT365
    orchestral studies: MT366

Books
history: ML940
maintenance and repair: ML941

back to top

 


Flute

Music
flute solo: M60 -- M62
flute with keyboard: M240 -- M244
quartets: M457.2; M459
concertos
    full scores: M1020
    accompaniment arranged for piano: M1021
flute choir: M1245 (and others by ensemble size)
studies
    general: MT340
    methods: MT342
    studies and exercises: MT345
    orchestral studies: MT346

Books
bibliography: ML128.F7
history, construction: ML935 -- ML936
performance: ML937

back to top

 


Guitar

Music
guitar solo: M125 -- M129
guitar with keyboard: M276 -- M277
guitar quartets: M467 -- M468
concertos
    scores (full and piano accomp.): M1037.4.G8
studies
    general: MT580
    methods: MT582
    studies and exercises: MT585

Books
history: ML1015.G9
construction, maintenance, repair: ML1016.G8

back to top

 


Harp

Music
harp solo: M115 -- M119
harp with keyboard: M273
concertos
    full scores: M1036
    accompaniment arranged for piano: M1037
studies and exercises: MT545

Books
history: ML1005

back to top

 


Horn

Music
horn solo: M80 -- M82; M84
horn with keyboard: M256 -- M257; M259
concertos
    full scores: M1028
    accompaniment arranged for piano: M1029
studies
    general: MT420
    methods: MT422
    studies and exercises: MT425
    orchestral studies: MT426

Books
history: ML955

back to top

 


Oboe

Music
oboe solo: M66 -- M67
oboe with keyboard: M245 -- M247
concertos
    full scores: M1022
    accompaniment arranged for piano: M1023
studies
    general: MT360
    methods: MT362
    studies and exercises: MT365
    orchestral studies: MT366

Books
bibliography: ML128.O2
history, general: ML940
construction: ML941
performance: ML943

back to top

 


Orchestra

Music (full size and study scores)
scores, general: M1000 -- M1049
symphonies: M1001
symphonic poems: M1002
overtures: M1004
concerti (see indiv. solo instruments): M1005 -- M1039
concertos for orchestra: M1042
pieces: M1045 -- M1070

Books
dictionaries: ML102.O66
bibliography: ML128.O5
discography: ML156.4.O5
history: ML1200 -- ML1233
analysis and appreciation
    general: MT125
    by composer: MT130
performance: MT730

back to top

 


Organ

Music
organ solo: M6 -- M14
concertos
    full scores: M1005
    accompaniment arranged for piano: M1006
studies
    general: MT180
    methods: MT182
    studies and exercises: MT185
       pedal: MT187
       registration: MT189

Books
dictionaries: ML102.O7
bibliography: ML128.O6
discography: ML156.4.O6
history, general: ML550
construction: ML552+
stops, etc.: ML595

back to top

 


Percussion

Music
percussion solo: M145 -- M146
percussion with keyboard: M285
duets: M298
trios, quartets, etc.: M385, M485, M585...
concertos: M1038+; M1138+
studies
    general: MT655
        timpani: MT660
        drum(s): MT662
    methods: MT655.2
        timpani: MT660.2
        drum(s): MT662.2
    studies and exercises: MT655.3
        timpani: MT660.3
        drum(s): MT662.3
    orchestral studies, general: MT655.4

Books
dictionaries: ML102.P4
bibliography: ML128.P23
discography: ML156.4.P4
history: ML1030 -- ML1040

back to top

 


Piano

Music
piano solo: M20 -- M39
piano 4-hands: M200 -- M207
concertos
    full scores: M1010
    accompaniment arranged for 2nd piano: M1011
studies
    general: MT220
    methods: MT222
    studies and exercises: MT225+

Books
dictionaries: ML102.P5
bibliography: ML128.P3
discography: ML156.4.P5
history: ML 650+

back to top

 


Quartets

Music
string quartets: M450 -- M454
wind quartets: M455 -- M459
brass quartets: M457 .4
string and wind quartets: M460 -- M464

back to top

 


Saxophone

Music
saxophone solo: M105 -- M109
saxophone with keyboard: M268 -- M269
concertos
    full scores: M1034.S4
    accompaniment arranged for piano: M1035.S4
studies
    general: MT500
    methods: MT502
    studies and exercises: MT505
    orchestral studies: MT506

Books
bibliography: ML128.S247
discography: ML156.4.S3
history, general: ML975
construction: ML976
performance: ML978

back to top

 


Trios

Music
piano and two string instruments: M310 -- M314
tpiano and two wind instruments: M315 -- M319
piano, one wind and one string instrument: M320 -- M324
piano, one string and one plucked instrument: M330 -- M334
piano, one wind and one plucked instrument: M335 -- M339
string trios: M349 -- M353
wind trios: M355 -- M359
brass trios: M357 .4

 

back to top

 


Trombone

Music
trombone solo: M90 -- M94
trombone with keyboard: M262 -- M263
concertos
    full scores: M1032
    accompaniment arranged for piano: M1033
studies
    general: MT460
    methods: MT462
    studies and exercises: MT465
    orchestral studies: MT466

Books
bibliography: ML128.T76
discography: ML156.4.T7
history, general: ML965
construction: ML966
performance: ML968

back to top

 


Trumpet

Music
trumpet solo: M85 -- M89
trumpet with keyboard: M260 -- M261
concertos
    full scores: M1030
    accompaniment arranged for piano: M1031
studies
    general: MT440
    methods: MT442
    studies and exercises: MT445
    orchestral studies: MT446

Books
bibliography: ML128.T78
discography: ML156.4.T8
history, general: ML960
construction: ML961
performance: ML963

back to top

 


Tuba

Music
tuba solo: M95 -- M99
tuba with keyboard: M264 -- M265
concertos
    full scores: M1034.T8
    accompaniment arranged for piano: M1035.T8
studies
    general: MT480
    methods: MT482
    studies and exercises: MT485
    orchestral studies: MT486

Books
bibliography: ML128.T8
history, general: ML970
construction: ML971
performance: ML973

back to top

 


Viola

Music
viola solo: M45 -- M49
viola with keyboard: M224 -- M228
concertos
    full scores: M1014
    accompaniment arranged for piano: M1015
studies
    general: MT280
    methods: MT282
    studies and exercises: MT285
    orchestral studies: MT286

Books
history, general: ML900
construction: ML901
performance: ML905

back to top

 


Violin

Music
violin solo: M40 -- M44
violin with keyboard: M217 -- M223
concertos
    full scores: M1012
    accompaniment arranged for piano: M1013
studies
    general: MT260
    physiology of the hand: MT261
    methods: MT262
    studies and exercises: MT265
    orchestral studies: MT266
    special techniques
       bowing: MT267
       positions: MT268
       chords: MT269
       harmonics: MT270
       other: MT271

Books
history, general: ML800
construction: ML802+
performance: ML850+

back to top

 


Violoncello

Music
violoncello solo: M50 -- M54
violoncello with keyboard: M229 -- M236
concertos
    full scores: M1016
    accompaniment arranged for piano: M1017
studies
    general: MT300
    methods: MT302
    studies and exercises: MT305
    orchestral studies: MT306
    special techniques
       bowing: MT307
       positions: MT308
       other: MT310

Books
history, general: ML910
construction: ML911
performance: ML915

back to top


Daniel A. Reed LibraryThe State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu