Skip to main content
The State University of New York at FredoniaReed Library

Citing: Chicago / Turabian

Other Citation Styles

For information on other citation styles, please see our citing guide.

Table of Contents

Resources in the Library

About Chicago Style

Chicago style comes from the University of Chicago Press. It is the citation style used most often in history, music, and art, and is sometimes used in other fields.

Turabian style comes from A Manual for Writers by Kate L. Turabian. It is very similar to Chicago style, with some modifications for student use.

Citations allow someone reading a paper to find what sources the writer used. It's important to include them in your papers to avoid plagiarism, to give credit to others for their ideas, and to show where you found your information.

Chicago: Notes and Bibliography

These citations will show you how to piece together the elements of citations for Chicago style footnotes and bibliography pages.

Please note that Turabian style may have some differences.

For more in-depth help, see the Excelsior OWL page on Chicago style, or ask a librarian.


Journal article:

First footnote:

Subsequent footnotes:

Bibliography entry:


Book:

First footnote:

Subsequent footnotes:

Bibliography entry:


Book chapter:

First footnote:

Subsequent footnotes:

Bibliography entry:


Webpage:

First footnote:

Subsequent footnotes:

Bibliography entry:


Newspaper article:

First footnote:

Subsequent footnotes:

Bibliography entry:

Hanging Indents

To create a hanging indent in Microsoft Word, click and hold on the bottom triangle at the far left of the ruler.

Then drag it to the half-inch mark and release it.

Citation Management

Citation managers are software that help you keep track of your citations. They allow you to organize your citations, store the full text, and insert citations in your papers.

Reed Library offers the use of EndNote.

License

CC BY-NC-SAThis page, authored by Sophie M. Forrester, is licensed under a Creative Commons BY-NC-SA 4.0 International License.

Daniel A. Reed LibraryThe State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu