Skip to main content
The State University of New York at FredoniaReed Library

Archives & Special Collections: Stefan Zweig

Zweig at Fredonia 2017 Events

As part of the 2017-2018 Convocation Series at Fredonia, “Transformations”, please join the Archives & Special Collections of Reed Library and the Department of English in celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Stefan Zweig Collection at Reed Library, as well as marking 75 years since the death of the archives’ namesake, the Austrian author Stefan Zweig (1881-1942). The acknowledgment of these momentous dates will include three separate events in October and November 2017, all of which lend variant meanings to the theme of transformation by focusing on questions of exile, race, national identity/nationalism, and loss of cultural heritage as seen through the perspective of a Zweig scholar, a documentary filmmaker, and the archival documents that comprise the Stefan Zweig Collection. Click here for more details.


Watch the video below to find out more about the Zweig Collection in its 50th year at Fredonia.


 

Stefan Zweig Collection

Stefan ZweigStefan Zweig (1881-1942) was an Austrian author of Jewish descent whose prolific output has been translated into over fifty languages. Widely regarded in the literary community as a decidedly humanitarian thinker, by the 1920s he was one of the most published authors in the world. He fled his native homeland in 1934 in reaction to the rising Nazi threat, relocating first to England, then briefly to America, and finally in Pétropolis, Rio de Janeiro where, tragically, he ended his life alongside his second wife, Lotte (née Altmann), in 1942.

The Stefan Zweig Collection at Fredonia contains over 6,000 manuscript letters written to Zweig by over 300 eminent personalities (1900-1942). Notable correspondents include Martin Buber, Albert Schweitzer, Richard Strauss, Rainer Maria Rilke, Luigi Pirandello, Jules Romains, Joseph Roth, Frans Masereel and Virginia Woolf among others. In addition, the archive contains manuscript and typescript drafts for many of Zweig's works, including fiction, poetry, drama, essays, and historical and biographical studies. The collection constitutes one of the most significant holdings of Zweig manuscripts in the world. 

Further materials include correspondence (approximately 2,000 letters) between the author and his first wife, Friderike Zweig (née Burger, formerly Winternitz); letters written to Friderike by other correspondents; a small collection of documents belonging to the author's brother, Alfred Zweig, including correspondence, memorabilia and photographs; and miscellaneous secondary sources and published material, including articles by and about Zweig, theatre programs and reviews of Zweig's works.

The Archives & Special Collections library also holds a significant number of published works by and about Zweig, including biographies, translations of Zweig's work and multilingual critical studies.

The Inventory of the Stefan Zweig Collection (1993) provides an overview of the documents in the collection and includes an extensive introduction detailing the history of the collection at Fredonia. Currently undergoing revision, the Inventory is available as a PDF upon request. Please contact the Coordinator of Archives & Special Collections, Kim Taylor.

Researchers may also wish to consult the Stefan Zweig Bibliography wiki compiled and maintained by noted Zweig bibliographer Dr. Randolph J. Klawiter. The wiki continues Klawiter's print bibliography, the last addendum of which was published in 1999. This critical resource, described by Casa Stefan Zweig as the "bible" for Zweig scholarship, comprises a decades-long effort by Dr. Klawiter, who is also Professor Emeritus of the Department of German and Russian at the University of Notre Dame. Fredonia is honored to provide the online home for Dr. Klawiter's ongoing work. Read more about the history of the bibliography here.

Watch the video below to learn more about the collection, featuring interviews with Birger Vanwesenbeeck, Associate Professor of English at Fredonia, and Gerda Morrissey, Curator Emerita of the Stefan Zweig Collection.

For research inquiries, please contact the Coordinator of Archives & Special Collections, Kim Taylor.

Follow the Zweig at Fredonia Weblog

Stefan ZweigIntended to encourage the scholarship and appreciation of Stefan Zweig by promoting the extensive Zweig Collection at Fredonia, the weblog also spotlights manuscript collections of Zweig materials from other repositories around the world and informs readers of Zweig-related conferences, symposia, exhibits and other events, both on the campus of Fredonia and at institutions worldwide.

Follow the weblog here: Zweig at Fredonia.

Usage Guidelines for Reproductions of Material from the Stefan Zweig Collection

The Reed Library Archives & Special Collections typically does not hold the intellectual property rights for the materials in its collections. The Archives & Special Collections assumes that all requests for reproductions are made within the guidelines of the U.S. Copyright Office Fair Use doctrine and are intended exclusively for research and educational purposes. As such, the Archives & Special Collections will assume no responsibility for any infringement of copyright on the part of the researcher. When seeking to use any reproductions for publication, it is the sole responsibility of the researcher to determine the copyright status of the materials and to contact the appropriate individual(s) in order to gain permission to publish. Please consult this table from Cornell University for more information on determining copyright status.

Requests for copies of materials in the Stefan Zweig Collection may be initiated by completion of the Reproduction Request Form. In accordance with good scholarly practice, we ask that researchers acknowledge the Archives & Special Collections as the holding institution for the original materials by using the following credit line:

The Stefan Zweig Collection, Daniel A. Reed Library Archives & Special Collections, State University of New York at Fredonia

Individuals or organizations who plan to publish or exhibit materials from the Stefan Zweig Collection must contact the Coordinator of Archives & Special Collections directly and complete the Intent to Publish Form. Permission is granted for one-time use only, regardless of published format. 

Reproduction fees

Reference quality scans (PDF, 200 dpi)                                                        $1.00 per page or image
Publication quality scans (JPEG or TIFF, 600 dpi)                                         $10.00 per image

Additional charges

Unusually large or complex orders may be subject to additional processing fees. Limits on the quantity of materials requested are assessed on a case-by-case basis and are dependent on available staff resources and the physical condition of items.

Once you have submitted the Reproduction Request Form, a staff member of the Archives & Special Collections will contact you via e-mail to confirm that we will be able to fulfill your request and to provide you with the total charges due. You may then submit your payment securely online using either VISA or MASTERCARD. Depending on the quantity of reproductions requested, processing may take approximately 1-3 weeks. Orders will not be processed until payment in full is received.

Zweig at Fredonia Blog

Loading

Follow us on Twitter

Daniel A. Reed LibraryThe State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu