Skip to main content
The State University of New York at FredoniaReed Library

Archives & Special Collections: Coalition on West Valley Nuclear Wastes

Historical Background

The Coalition on West Valley Nuclear Wastes (CWVNW) is a true coalition of concerned people from western New York and local, state and national organizations. The Coalition was formed in 1974 to study the reprocessing operation of the nuclear fuel and buried waste practices at the West Valley nuclear site. The group presumes that concerned citizens can learn, communicate, and participate effectively in the nuclear and environmental decisions to be made for the West Valley nuclear site. The Coalition's monitoring, advocating, lobbying, litigating, and acquiring of scientific, federal and state government information on West Valley has been met with modest success over the years. The Coalition's efforts helped implement the West Valley Demonstration Project of 1980. The Coalition exists to this present day, continuing to advocate for the proper maintenance, containment and disposition of nuclear wastes and promote environmental awareness of citizens and elected officials.

Aerial view of the West Valley nuclear waste site in West Valley, NYFor more information on the Coalition on West Valley Nuclear Wastes Collection see the Finding Aid.

In 2015 and 2016, new additions to this collection were donated to the archives by several Coalition members.  In 2018, with the help of a Documentary Heritage Preservation grant from the New York State Archives, the new materials were added to the existing Coalition on West Valley Nuclear Wastes Collection, with the process being finalized in March 2019. 

For more information on the newly added materials to the collection, please see the MSS 43.1 Finding Aid.

For research inquiries, please complete the Archives Research Request form.

Follow us on Twitter

Daniel A. Reed LibraryThe State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu