Skip to main content
The State University of New York at FredoniaReed Library

Archives & Special Collections: University Archives

University Archives

The University Archives collects materials of enduring historical value and certain non-current records that document both the administrative activities of the State University of New York at Fredonia and its overall history. Decisions on collection development in this area are informed by the SUNY Records Retention and Disposition Schedule, as well as by the input of key university departments and individuals.

With the support of a 2018 Regional Bibliographic Databases (RBDB) grant from the Western New York Library Resources Council (WNYLRC), the Archives and Special Collections has collaborated with Backstage Library Works to digitize 20 bound volumes of the earliest issues of the college's newspaper, The Normal Leader, spanning the years 1893 to 1922.  The Normal Leader, first published in 1893 in several handwritten volumes by the all-female Agonian literary society and later the Zetesian literary society, originally focused on literary content created by students at the Fredonia Normal School and provided a glimpse into student life at the turn of the 20th Century.  While The Normal School at Fredonia was only one among many teachers colleges in the United States, The Normal Leader gives a unique account of the school's inception and growth over time in relation to the overall history of the region.

In total, 191 individual issues are now text-searchable and available for browsing, research, and enjoyment via New York Heritage - click here to view the collection (originals available for viewing in the Archives and Special Collections reading room).

Please contact the Archives & Special Collections for further assistance.

Daniel A. Reed LibraryThe State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu