Skip to main content
The State University of New York at FredoniaReed Library

Archives & Special Collections: Sigurd M. Raschèr

Sigurd Raschèr Collection

Sigurd M. RascherThe Sigurd Raschèr Collection represents one of the finest collections of manuscript materials documenting the development of the saxophone's role within 20th-century classical music in the country. Donated by Raschèr's daughter, Carina, to the Archives & Special Collections at Fredonia in 2004, the collection traces the life and work of the preeminent classical saxophonist Sigurd M. Raschèr (1907-2001) and offers musicians, composers and scholars alike the opportunity to engage with Raschèr's brilliant and prolific career, including his connection with the Fredonia School of Music.

Extending over 75 linear feet, the collection includes autograph and printed scores, correspondence, photographs, clippings, business records, audio materials and, not least, several of Raschèr's own instruments, including the contrabass seen alongside Raschèr in this photograph.

In 2010-2011, a comprehensive audio preservation project resulted in the the digitization of the analog audio materials contained in the collection from the following formats: 78 RPM shellac, instantaneous transcription disc, 45 RPM disc, LP album, 1/4" reel to reel and cassette tape.

Although currently undergoing processing, most of the Sigurd Raschèr Collection is open to researchers, by appointment only. Plans to release a comprehensive finding aid are forthcoming. For research inquiries, please complete the Archives Research Request form.

 

Photo: Sigurd Raschèr with contrabass saxophone in case, holding keyless alto saxophone, June 1964©Marilyn Mason
Sigurd M. Raschèr Collection, Archives & Special Collections, State University of New York at Fredonia.

The Raschèr Reader

Cover of The Rascher ReaderThe Raschèr Reader (2014) is a compendium of writings by the classical saxophone pioneer, Sigurd M. Raschèr. Compiled and edited by Dr. Lee Patrick, the book contains writings by Raschèr spanning seven decades. Alongside published articles from prominent music journals (e.g., The InstrumentalistWoodwind WorldEtude Magazine, and The Saxophone Symposium) are found many of Raschèr's manuscript writings, published here for the first time.

The compilation is noteworthy in that it presents not just Raschèr's ideas on music (e.g., saxophone pedagogy, the history of instruments, musical interpretation), but also his views on such topics as education, farming and nuclear energy, all expressed with tremendous clarity, humor and wisdom. In addition, the Reader contains a small selection of press materials, articles about Raschèr, and photographs from the Fredonia collection.

The Raschèr Reader is an invaluable resource for every saxophonist and music library. It is available in linen hard cover with foil imprinting via the Fredonia e-store.

For more information on Raschèr, please visit the Fredonia facebook page.

Reproduction Requests for the Sigurd M. Raschèr Collection

The Reed Library Archives & Special Collections typically does not hold the intellectual property rights for the materials in its collections. The Archives & Special Collections assumes that all requests for reproductions are made within the guidelines of the U.S. Copyright Office Fair Use doctrine and are intended exclusively for research and educational purposes. As such, the Archives & Special Collections will assume no responsibility for any infringement of copyright on the part of the researcher. When seeking to use any reproductions for publication, it is the sole responsibility of the researcher to determine the copyright status of the materials and to contact the appropriate individual(s) in order to gain permission to publish. Please consult this table from Cornell University for more information on determining copyright status.

Requests for copies of materials in the Sigurd M. Raschèr Collection may be initiated by completion of the Reproduction Request Form. In accordance with good scholarly practice, we ask that researchers acknowledge the Archives & Special Collections as the holding institution for the original materials by using the following credit line:

The Sigurd M. Raschèr Collection, Daniel A. Reed Library Archives & Special Collections, State University of New York at Fredonia

Individuals or organizations who plan to publish or exhibit materials from the Sigurd M. Raschèr Collection must contact the Coordinator of Archives & Special Collections directly and complete the Intent to Publish Form. Permission is granted for one-time use only, regardless of published format. 

Once you have submitted the required form/s, a staff member of the Archives & Special Collections will contact you via e-mail to confirm that we will be able to fulfill your request and to provide you with the total charges due. You may then submit your payment securely online using either VISA or MASTERCARD. Depending on the quantity of reproductions requested, processing may take approximately 1-3 weeks. Processing of orders will not begin until payment in full is received.

Reproduction fees

Reference quality scans (PDF, 200 dpi)                                                        $1.00 per page or image
Publication quality scans (JPEG or TIFF, 600 dpi)                                         $10.00 per image

Requests are limited to 50 pages or images within a six-month period. Individual requests involving image or page count beyond 25 will be assessed an additional processing fee of $25 USD. Reproduction requests are assessed on a case-by-case basis and are dependent on available staff resources and the physical condition of items.

N.B.  Requests for reproductions of scores from the collection are limited to black & white, 200 dpi PDF files. Any requests for publication quality scans of scores still under copyright must be accompanied by appropriate documentation from the copyright holder/s granting permission for such usage. It is the sole responsibility of the researcher to determine the copyright status of any materials intended for publication, broadcast, exhibit, or any use outside of the Fair Use guidelines

Follow us on Twitter

Daniel A. Reed LibraryThe State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu