Skip to main content
The State University of New York at FredoniaReed Library

Archives & Special Collections Webpages: Archives & Special Collections

Mission Statement

The mission of the Archives & Special Collections Department (A&SC) of the Daniel A. Reed Library at the State University of New York at Fredonia is to collect, organize, preserve, provide access to and encourage scholarly engagement with a variety of unique manuscript and archival materials in primary support of the scholarship needs of both the academic community at Fredonia and researchers around the world. The A&SC provides a vital function in enhancing Fredonia’s reputation as a center for excellence in scholarship by working with faculty to integrate the use of unique manuscript and archival materials into the curriculum. To that end, the A&SC, in support of the overall mission of the university, embraces the initiatives to educate, challenge and inspire students, encouraging their development as skilled, connected, creative and responsible global citizens. 

Collection Development & Donation Policies

The University Archives collects materials of enduring historical value and certain non-current records that document both the administrative activities of the State University of New York at Fredonia and its overall history. Decisions on collection development in this area are informed by the SUNY Records Retention and Disposition Schedule, as well as by the input of key university departments and individuals.

The Special Collections comprise a unique range of primary source materials in a variety of formats, as well as a small, but growing, collection of rare books. The manuscript collections encompass subjects of regional, national and international significance. Current collection strengths emphasize the activities of the Holland Land Company in the greater Western New York region; environmental history; prominent local and regional authors; 20th-century American classical music, particularly as exemplified in the papers of preeminent classical saxophonist Sigurd Rascher; and the renowned Austrian author Stefan Zweig.

The Archives & Special Collections (A&SC) will consider donations of the following materials, depending on their ability to meaningfully contribute to the areas of focus outlined above: manuscripts, photographs, sound recordings, audiovisual materials, rare books, ephemera and other archival records deemed to have significant intrinsic as well as informational value as defined by the Society of American Archivists. Newspaper clippings are not actively collected by the A&SC. The A&SC requires a Deed of Gift agreement for all donations in order to establish clear transfer of ownership to the A&SC.

The Archives & Special Collections will generally not accept the following:

  • Materials for which the donor does not hold the clear title or in which the donor’s ownership is in question or disputed
  • Materials that fall outside the scope of the current collection development policy and mission in either format or content
  • Photocopies or other alternate use formats of materials held by other repositories
  • Photocopies or other alternate use formats in lieu of original source materials
  • Duplicates of materials already held by the Archives & Special Collections
  • Items in extremely poor physical condition requiring extensive conservation treatment
  • Formats for which the Archives & Special Collections does not currently have either the technology or expertise to properly maintain
  • Government records of permanent value or other original materials better suited to another repository

Genealogy Requests

PLEASE NOTE: We do not provide individualized genealogical research for patrons. If you require assistance with genealogical research, we suggest you contact a professional genealogist. Further, we do not have the staffing to conduct searches of records on microfilm.

Should you require assistance with your genealogical research, you may wish to consider using the services of a professionally trained genealogist. The following organizations may be able to provide information considering individual genealogy services. The Reed Library Archives & Special Collections does not endorse the services of the following individuals or organizations, nor can we specifically recommend any of these individuals or organizations:

Follow us on Twitter

Hours & Location

The Archives & Special Collections are located on the first floor of the Carnahan Jackson Center. We are open to students, faculty, staff and alumni of Fredonia, as well as researchers outside of the campus community by appointment.

Current hours are by appointment only.

Please submit a research request form here or call +1 716-673-3183.


Contact Information

Kim Taylor
Coordinator of Archives & Special Collections

Pat Cummings-Witter​
Archives Clerk

PH: +1 716-673-3183
FAX: +1 716-673-3185

Unattended Child Policy

Pursuant to the Reed Library Unattended Child Policy, minors must be accompanied at all times by a responsible adult; unattended children are not allowed in the Archives & Special Collections area based on library and university policy.

Daniel A. Reed LibraryThe State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 •