Skip to main content
The State University of New York at FredoniaReed Library

Archives & Special Collections: Holland Land Company

Overview of the Archives of the Holland Land Company on Microfilm

Holland Land Company map

The Holland Land Company records on microfilm comprise materials relating to the United States investment activities of the Holland Land Company, an early 19th-century Dutch conglomerate of six Dutch banking houses.

The microfilm records held by Reed Library span the years 1789-1869. The reels were created from original documents held by the Municipal Archives of Amsterdam in the Netherlands with the permission of the Municipal Archives and the assistance of Nederlandse Document Reproductie B.V.

 

Image: Map of Morris's Purchase or West Geneseo in the State of New York, ca. 1814. HLC Map 0097, from Archives of the Holland Land Company microfilm collection, Reed Library, State University of New York at Fredonia.


Patrons may access the microfilm reels in the Microforms Room of Reed Library during normal operating hours and do not need to schedule an appointment to do so. Please note that select microfilm reels, including all of the maps and all of the Western New York land transactions (indexed in Karen Livsey's Western New York Land Transactions, 1804-1824 and 1825-1835) have been digitized and are freely accessible on the New York Heritage website. See below for more information.

Genealogy Requests

While we understand that the Holland Land Company Records provide great benefit to individuals conducting genealogy research, please note that the Archives & Special Collections staff does not provide genealogical research for patrons. If you require assistance with genealogical research, we suggest you contact a professional genealogist. Further, we do not have the staffing to conduct searches of records on microfilm. Should you require assistance with your genealogical research, you may wish to consider using the services of a professionally trained genealogist. The following organizations may be able to provide information concerning individual genealogy services. The Reed Library Archives & Special Collections does not endorse the services of the following individuals or organizations, nor can we specifically recommend any of these individuals or organizations:

Digitized Archives of the Holland Land Company Microfilm on New York Heritage

Researchers may now access many records of the Archives of the Holland Land Company in digital format. Housed on the New York Heritage Digital Collections website, these records include maps, land transactions and other materials digitized from the microfilm holdings of Reed Library.

New York Heritage Digital CollectionsWith the support of 2007 and 2008 Regional Bibliographic Databases and Resource Sharing (RBDB) Program Grants through the Western New York Library Resources Council, Reed Library staff digitized 1,363 color maps from the Archives of the Holland Land Company, featuring maps from the state of New York and the Western New York region as well as from other Holland Land Company holdings at repositories throughout the eastern United States. The Holland Land Company Maps can be viewed here.

In 2016 an additional RBDB grant was awarded to Reed Library to digitize 20 select reels from the 202-reel collection, including the following reels (numbering based on the Pieterse Inventory; see below): 109-113, 123-128, 144-146, 175-180. This effort included those reels containing the Western New York land transactions referenced in Karen Livsey's Western New York Land Transactions (1804-1824 and 1825-1835). The Archives of the Holland Land Company collection can be viewed here.

The Daniel A. Reed Library of the State University of New York at Fredonia remains grateful to the Gemeentelijke Archiefdienst van Amsterdam (Municipal Archives of Amsterdam) and the Nederlandse Document Reproductie B.V. for their collaborative roles in the original microfilming project of the Holland Land Company Archives completed many years ago.

Inventory of the Archives of the Holland Land Company, 1789-1869

The Inventory of the Archives of the Holland Land Company, 1789-1869 by Dr. Wilhelmina C. Pieterse (Municipal Archives Amsterdam, 1976) provides detailed information on the contents of each volume in the microfilm collection. Available for download, the Inventory was reproduced with kind permission of the Municipal Archives of Amsterdam and Nederlandse Document Reproductie B.V.

Inventory of the Archives of the Holland Land Company, 1789-1869 (text)

Inventory of the Archives of the Holland Land Company, 1789-1869 (maps)

 

Supplementary Material

The following microfilm reels contain supplementary Holland Land Company materials. The reels are located in the Microforms Room of Reed Library. Patrons may access them at any time during normal operating hours.

  • Field notes of the grand survey of the Genesee lands - 2 reels 
  • Field notes of the surveys of ranges and township lines - 3 reels 
  • Lot survey field notebooks, 1798-1815 - 23 reels
  • Holland Land Company records and related documents in the Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society (includes the Joseph Ellicott Correspondence) - 25 reels
  • Holland Land Company and related records in Reed Library (pertaining mostly to Cattaraugus County) - 23 reels
  • Holland Land Company and Chautauqua Land Office records in Patterson Library, Westfield - 52 reels
  • Holland Land Company records in the Batavia Land Office Museum - 17 reels

Follow us on Twitter

Daniel A. Reed LibraryThe State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu